About Us

The National Association of VA Optometrists (NAVAO) is a not-for-profit organization¬†founded in 1977. The objectives of the NAVAO are to encourage and promote the best possible primary eye and vision care for our nation’s Veterans and to promote the education, training, professional growth, and welfare of optometric staff, research/clinical fellows, residents, and students. The NAVAO is also dedicated to fostering camaraderie and professional development among VA optometrists. Any VA staff, attending, consultant, research/clinical fellow, resident optometrist, or any other optometrist having an interest in VA optometry is eligible for membership.

Founding Members
  • Dr. Arnie Adler
  • Dr. Allen Cohen
  • Dr. Ed Mehr
  • Dr. Kenneth Myers
  • Dr. Robert Newcomb
  • Dr. Robert Perlin
  • Dr. John Potter
  • Dr. Clifford Scott
  • Dr. Gerald Selvin
  • Dr. Thomas Stelmack
NAVAO Past Presidents
  • Dr. Robert Newcomb (1977-1983)
  • Dr. Clifford Scott (1983-1987)
  • Dr. Robert Carty (1987-1989)
  • Dr. Bernard Dolan (1989-1991)
  • Dr. John Townsend (1991-1993)
  • Dr. Gerald Melore (1993-1997)
  • Dr. Sharon Atkin (1997-1999)
  • Dr. Gerald Selvin (1999-2003)
  • Dr. Sharon Atkin (2003-2005)
  • Dr. Gay Tokumaru (2005-2009)
  • Dr. Brian Kawasaki (2009-2013)
  • Dr. Nancy Wong (2013-2017)